

ADVOCACY 2025 Legislative Agenda

MISSION STATEMENT:

Advancing the prosperity of our member business and the vitality of the area.

Priorities

Public Policy committee to attend 90% of all City Council meetings.

City: Advocate for investments that will help grow the community. Positively influence cost drivers to slow the growth of taxes and improve efficiencies.

Budget: Support investments that improve the long-term growth of the community. Slow the growth of tax increases so the cost of doing business is as effective as possible.

Regulations: Advocate for appropriate levels of and enforcement of regulations.

► STATE Priorities

Good Governance

- Reducing Minnesota's individual and corporate income tax rate to get out of top 10 highest in the country.
- · Support business property tax relief for Minnesota.
- · Support Angel investment tax credits.
- · Conform to the federal estate tax threshold.

Fiscal Responsibility

 More nimble and responsive workforce system that can provide a shorter-term pathway to certificates or degrees in areas of greatest demand. Assess the state's current workforce initiatives and audit of all state workforce spending, programs, councils and boards to assess performance and return on investment.

Growing our Economy

- Support sensible environmental regulations that will allow Minnesota to maintain a clean environment and a healthy business climate, while fostering statewide economic benefit and job growth.
- Regulatory systems should be structured and operated so there is a defined process and timeline for completion of environmental review and permits.

CONTACT



507.451.7970 | oacct@owatonna.org | owatonna.org

Hours M-F: 8am-5pm 120 South Oak Ave, Owatonna, MN 55060







► CITY Representatives

► COUNTY Representatives

Mayor - Matt Jessop; 507-363-1980 mayor@owatonna.gov

At Large - Doug Voss; 507-475-0550 douglas.voss@ci.owatonna.mn.us

At Large - Dan Boeke; 507-363-1932 daniel.boeke@owatonna.gov

First Ward - Nathan Dotson; 507-363-1189 nate.dotson@owatonna.gov

Second Ward - Don McCann; 507-456-6383 donald.mccan@owatonna.gov

Third Ward - Dave Burbank; 507-456-4602 david.burbank@ci.owatonna.mn.us

Fourth Ward - Kevin Raney; 507-456-3116 kevin.raney@ci.owatonna.mn.us

Fifth Ward - Brent Svenby; 507-363-1136 brent.svenby@ci.owatonna.mn.us



City Council, Administration, Mayor. Pictured I-r: Jenna Tuma, Don McCann, Kris Busse, Brad Svenby, Kevin Raney, Matt Jessop, Dan Boeke, Doug Voss, Nathan Dotson and Dave Burbank

District 1 - James Brady; 507-202-0804 james.brady@steelecountymn.gov

District 2 - John Glynn; 507-475-0473 john.glynn@steelecountymn.gov

District 3 - Josh Prokopec; 507-676-3914 joshua.prokopec@steelecountymn.gov

District 4 - Jim Abbe; 507-444-7478 jim.abbe@steelecountymn.gov

District 5 - Greg Krueger; 507-413-0657 greg.krueger@steelecountymn.gov



Steele County Commissioners. Pictured I-r: James Brady, Jim Abbe, John Glynn, Greg Krueger, Josh Prokopec

BECOME ENGAGED

- · Talk to your legislators -invite them to your facility
- · Respond to calls to action/action alerts
- · Tell your story-you do not need to be a lobbyist
- · Attend Candidate Forums
- · Consider running for public office
- · Serve on Public Policy committee

► STATE & FEDERAL Representatives

▶ State



District 19 Senator John Jasinski (R) 651-296-0284 sen.john.jasinski@senate.mn.gov



District 19B Representative Tom Sexton (R) 507-351-8292 tomfor19B@gmail.com

Federal



District 1 Congressman Brad Finstad (R) 507-577-6141



Amy Klobuchar (D) 507-288-5321



Senator Tina Smith (D) 507-288-2003